The Great Mystery of Gardening

Today I was at the garden, to see if my tomatoes were turning, I am anticipating the taste of garden tomatoes so much.  I grew up with garden tomatoes, all the usual varieties, only veering into heritage varieties in the last 10 years.

What I didn’t grow up with were root vegetables home-grown.  

Last year I tried carrots for the first time, with mixed and strange-looking results.

Image

 

This year I was encouraged to try again, and I am so glad I did.  Although I wish I had tried the Okra some gardeners have, or the melons, I am excited about my carrots.  The anticipation of pulling, wondering if it will be straight or crooked.  Will it be wormy?  Things that grow under the earth are mysterious.  

I am pleased to report, that so far my 2013 carrots have been straight and mostly beautiful.  

How has your garden been growing?

Image

Leave a Reply

